RSS Feed

There’s nothing ‘Mini’ about Me…

Posted on

I love a library! Rooms full of knowledge and adventure and fantasy and fact and FREE BOOKS! What’s not to love? Our School library is run by a human dynamo named Carol who decided to run a Self-portait competition for pupils and staff. As we were allowed to use any medium it seemed only natural for me to make a Mini-Me doll.

I have only ever made two dolls before. One is Leilani, our home fairy. One year, frustrated in my search for a Christmas fairy I decided to attempt to make my own. She had to be pretty and have beautiful brown skin like my lovely girls. I made her out of scrap fabric, drew her face using permanent ink and fashioned wings  using wire, old tights and a sprinkling of glitter (Pretty Polly Nylons, if you must know).
Leilani

Isn’t she a hottie?!

My next foray in to doll-making was years later following a plaintive plea from my little sewing-phobic sister. ‘Pleeeeease can you make Peso the penguin for my son? He LOVES the Octonauts!”. Erm…who? Conveniently over looking the fact that I have two teenage girls, know nothing about little children and had never even heard of Peso I set about this task with apprehension. I watched The Octonauts (after Rastamouse it’s become a favourite. Don’t judge me) and after a few wrong turns (flammable fabric, anyone?) managed to make a pretty good Peso. The best part is that he has become my nephew’s Toy du Jour. That’s a phrase, right?

I often find that I build a problem up into a massive mountain until I finally start and realise it was a teensy molehill after all! This formula applies to most parts of my life, unfortunately, which is why my title as Queen of Proscrastination will take some beating. However, I also love a challenge so once I had decided that Mini-Me would be a combination of the real me (hair and matching accessories) and fantasy me (perfect make-up and  ever-ready smile) making her became easier. Less of an Oh-My-Gawd-What-Have-I-Done? and more  Fun-Times-In-Front-Of-CSI:Miami. Her face is embroidered and her orange linen headwrap matches her undergarments. Oh yeah!

P.s I gained an ‘honourable mention’ for my entry and received a special book prize – To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee. Read it. It’s good.

I was so pleased with my Mini-me that I decided to run a competition. All you had to do was to tell me why YOU deserved to have a Mini-Me created. The lucky winner, Debbs, wanted to send her doll to her sister because they missed each other so much. Awww! I’m a sucker for a bit of sentiment. I made sure that she was wearing her favourite jeans tucked in to some ‘leather’ boots. As soon as the winner was announced I was contacted by an unlucky entrant, Kate, who wanted to commission a Mini-me for her boyfriend! Kate has gorgeous long curly hair and wanted to wear a dress and matching shoes! What I loved about making them was the artistic license I was given. They really are a combination of real life people and their fantasy counterparts. I hope that Debbs and Kate love their Mini-me’s as much as I enjoyed creating them!

So what about you? Have you ever worked yourself in to a state of near paralysis over something that turned out to be easier than you thought? Or is that just me?

About Reddskin

New name! New chapter! Follow me over at www.reddskin.co.uk My name is Ms A. I'm a mother, designer and educator.

12 responses »

  1. These are fantastic! I love how you make them look like the person requesting them. So many possibilities. Will you be offering these in your shop?

    Reply
  2. I loved reading the story behind their making… she who procrastinates, does so because she desires perfection! Really a great piece of writing… and I am not just saying that because of the lovely words about our school library – honest. And Yea for libraries and free books!!

    Reply
    • Yes I thought you might like to have a read. I mean every word I say too. I like your take on procrastination…and whilst I could be called a bit of a perfectionist it’s more usually because I can always find something else to do. hey ho.
      thanks for taking the time to comment.
      k xx

      Reply
  3. I heart you! But stop nicking my title! I’m the Queen of Procrastination! The most embarrassing thing about it is that 99% of what I put off, when I do it, it takes minutes. Sure I fannied around procrastinating about it for far longer! I need to get back to doing See It, Do It, Think It, Do It. Very stressful initially but it gets sh*t done! I love your dolls especially the one of you. I think I shall have to commission one of myself 😉 Oh and I was a major bookworm until I popped those divas. Escapism since I was 4 – libraries and bookshops are great for evading crackerjack family!

    Reply
    • Then I shall be the Princess of Putting off then ok? Isn’t that always the case though? things are always easier because we work them up into these huge insurmountable objects! I love that See it, Think it, Do it. I should try it but The fear of Failure gets in the way too often.
      Books wise my record is a year to read one book. I am officially rubbish. But I’m trying. You can read the Mister men books to your divas instead!
      thanks for the subscription and the comments. and I HEART you too!
      k xx

      Reply
  4. I remember when you first made Leilani I loved her so much! I always thought it was funny that she had her own little box to live in for a year before the unveiling every Christmas…I always thought she looked so beautiful on top of our unique Christmas Tree 😀

    Reply
  5. I’m glad that you love Leilani because I made her with you guys in mind. Thanks for stopping by Moonbeam 🙂 xx

    Reply
  6. lovely dolls! I think personalised ones could really take off.
    I have an octonauts fan here, so love the peso doll too!

    Reply
  7. Seriously I never know who these characters are until my sister tells me about them! When I visit I have been subjected to the Zingzillas theme tune on repeat. I’m a Bill and Ben girl myself…from the days when colour tv was a new innovation!
    thanks for your comments. glad you like the dolls 🙂

    Reply
  8. I love having a sister who when pushed, shoved or plied with drinks
    will make pretty much anything for her gorgeous nephew Luke. You are sooooo darn talented hot chick. xxx

    Reply
    • Ahh what can I say? You’re very …erm…persuasive and Lil man is just irresistible! Free wine works on most occasions I find! 😉
      thanks for your lovely comment Lady Allen!
      xx

      Reply

Leave a Reply

JACK MONROE

COOKING ON A BOOTSTRAP & MORE

Patterns

Twenty something taking control of her mental health. Anxiety & depression sufferer. Learning as I go.

Reddskin

Sewing, making and creating...most of the time.

WB2QB

Worker Bee 2 Queen Bee

Tall. Black. One Sugar

Sometimes you have to hold your tongue, other times you have to say it as you see it.

afrow

Black Girl on the Front Row!

Crazy Green Thumbs

Chronicling a delusional gardening experience.

BIG MOUTHED WOMAN

what I had for tea last night (and other stories)

Hannah Crossley

Beauty, Lifestyle, Fashion

jazzre:freshed

forget what you think you know about jazz

Holly Coleman

artist and embroiderer

rellestyles

Fashion Stylist. Fashionista. Naturalista. London.

Telling stories whilst eating bon bons

Story telling, bad dancing, much eating.

My Bipolar

One Girl's Bipolar Journey

arhinarmah

'Cut from a different cloth'

