RSS Feed

Wonder Walk: Wake up!

Posted on

I’ve been having one of those meh moments. Great word that. You even have to frown to say it.

As a part-time creative it’s so frustrating when I finally have the time to sew or design… and I’m just not feeling it. Call it losing your Mojo or just being stuck in a rut. Add a massive feeling of guilt, especially in the run up to the Christmas season when there’s so much to do, and it just causes more anxiety. Horrible.

So when I read about Wonder Walks; a way of kickstarting creativity in a  guest post by Laura Simms  for Oh My Handmade Goodness  I was surprised at just how I was excited to try it out. All I had to do was choose a topic to focus on, go for a walk, point my camera and shoot.

I don’t know if I did it ‘right’ but I had SO MUCH FUN wandering around seeing objects through ‘new’ eyes. When I got home I was able to look at my photographs properly I must say I was thrilled by the results.

I would recommend this for anyone, creative, inquisitive or just plain bored, as a really interesting day out.  So without further ado here is a selection of the results of my Wonder Walk. Focus; My favourite colour!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

And it worked…my sewing machine IS ALIVE! Yay! (You have to smile to say that word!)

What do you think? Fancy giving it a go?

About Reddskin

New name! New chapter! Follow me over at www.reddskin.co.uk My name is Ms A. I'm a mother, designer and educator.

14 responses »

  1. I love this! I am so happy to hear that something simple like taking a walk with an eye for inspiration allowed you to get out of that creative rut and fire up your sewing machine! You got some great pictures full of pattern/texture & of course orange-can’t wait to see how that translates into a handmade creation! Cheers to wonder walking: )

    Reply
    • Thank you Jessika.
      To be honest I was hooked by the name…it does feel like you’re seeing familiar, possibly even mundane, places with a brand new eye. It was like being on holiday. In a way I can’t wait for my Mojo to take a (very teensy) hike so that I can coax it back with another Wonder Walk (joking!)
      Thanks for taking the time to comment.
      K x

      Reply
  2. thanks for sharing your wonder walk — I totally enjoyed it too! 🙂

    Reply
  3. So I suppose I must get women moments then? Anyway I’m glad it’s not just me losing my mojo – thank you reddskinbags

    Reply
    • Ah we ALL have Meh moments, Ian. People just describe them in different ways…I think these times hit creatives the hardest but I may be wrong!
      I fully recommend you give it a go though. You can use your mobile to take pictures if you want. Its quite uncanny how easy it is and what it may awaken in your creative brain.
      Thanks for commenting!
      K xx

      Reply
  4. These are beautiful! So glad a wonder walk could help get you out of the meh and into the yay.

    Reply
  5. Thanks… and, more to the point, Thank YOU! I’ve been enthusing about Wonder Walks to everyone since I did my first one! I have 2 creative daughters who will be using it too – cannot recommend it enough!
    Thanks for commenting.
    K x

    Reply
  6. I love the idea of a Wonder Walk – will give it a go! Elaine

    Reply
  7. What a great way to get your “mojo” back, I shall have to remember this when I get bloggers block!

    Reply
    • It was too! And the best thing is you can try it on any day out…even if its just a trip to the supermarket. Might take a bit longer than usual mind…but ooh the results!
      Thanks for commenting, lovely.
      K x

      Reply
  8. Love this post, love the idea and love the colour orange

    Reply

Leave a Reply

JACK MONROE

COOKING ON A BOOTSTRAP & MORE

Patterns

Twenty something taking control of her mental health. Anxiety & depression sufferer. Learning as I go.

Reddskin

Sewing, making and creating...most of the time.

WB2QB

Worker Bee 2 Queen Bee

Tall. Black. One Sugar

Sometimes you have to hold your tongue, other times you have to say it as you see it.

afrow

Black Girl on the Front Row!

Crazy Green Thumbs

Chronicling a delusional gardening experience.

BIG MOUTHED WOMAN

what I had for tea last night (and other stories)

Hannah Crossley

Beauty, Lifestyle, Fashion

jazzre:freshed

forget what you think you know about jazz

Holly Coleman

artist and embroiderer

rellestyles

Fashion Stylist. Fashionista. Naturalista. London.

Telling stories whilst eating bon bons

Story telling, bad dancing, much eating.

My Bipolar

One Girl's Bipolar Journey

arhinarmah

'Cut from a different cloth'

