RSS Feed

Altogether now!


Apparently I’ve been ‘tagged’. No I’m not  a criminal and I don’t have some sort of disease. The delightful Mrs Worthington and her partners in crime Liz ‘n’ Laura thought it would be a whizzo idea to ‘encourage’ me to participate in a Christmas meme. Little did they know that:

a/ I had no idea what tagging or a meme was,    and

b/ I would then go in to ‘Oh my goodness what do I say? mode and drive everyone potty asking questions about it.

(really sorry about that, ladies).

I teach therefore (I am? Erm…No) getting into the Christmas spirit didn’t even happen until the last excited pupil had left the building and I placed the receiver down on my final  phone call. Then, and only then, could I begin to get excited about the days ahead, rope my  darling divas in to helping me decorate the tree, and start a week of relative relaxation… aided and abetted by the odd  glass of  ginger wine and white rum *grins*.

Last year, however, I held my first Reddskinbags Festive Open Day. This meant that the tree had to be up much earlier to create the right ambience (or something). It’s hard to resist the Christmas Spirit when Leilani our Home Fairy is watching you make mulled wine from atop the Christmas tree (and even harder when you’ve sampled  a glass).

Back in the day, Christmas morning at my mum’s house always began early with her blasting out Christmas hits by Perry Como or Vic Damon. Ah, memories. My siblings and I  duly rolled our eyes at each other but when I moved in to my own place I actually missed their old school festive warbling. Rest assured I am not going to site any of their offerings as my favourite Christmas Song. For me, its ALL about the joining in! In the 80’s my peers and I were just discovering a new-fangled genre named ‘rap’… so when Kurtis Blow’s ‘Christmas Rapping’ hit the airwaves we were hooked!

And I still love it!

So here, for your delight and entertainment (check the suit), is Kurtis Blow on  ToTP. I defy you not to rap along with it!

And now it’s time to pass the tagging baton to these select few elliestreasures , Julesy10 , Giddystuff , DitsyBirdDesign , and The_Moiderer . What’s your favourite Christmas song?

About Reddskin

New name! New chapter! Follow me over at www.reddskin.co.uk My name is Ms A. I'm a mother, designer and educator.

6 responses »

  1. A retro choice,nice. That wasn’t so hard now was it.

    Reply
  2. Not at all – short is good (some of the time)! and it was so much fun choosing! 🙂

    Reply
  3. Love your fairy – and, you’ve reminded me to go purchase plenty a bottle of mulled wine – hic. Cheers!

    Elaine

    Reply
  4. I have far too many christmas songs that I love to choose one, so here are my top 5, in no particular order!

    1) 2000 Miles by the Pretenders. I have no idea why I love this song, but it’s fantastic to wail along to.

    2) Driving Home for Christmas – Chris Rea! My step-grandad always sings this while serving up christmas dinner. So I suppose it’s his version I love technically!

    3) Fairytale of New York – The Pogues and Kirsty MacColl. It’s a classic!

    4) In Dulci Jubilo – any version. It’s pretty.

    5) I believe in Father Christmas – Greg Lake. It’s about not being commercial at christmas. Or something.

    I love all christmas music however. This list was hard. Even more so as I was only meant to choose one!

    Reply
    • Wow you weren’t joking abut an epic reply were you! I don’t know numbers 1, 4 or 5 so I must get acquainted. It is difficult to choose I agree. I am a sucker for a traditional Christmas carol myself but keep that to yourself, yeah?
      Thanks for the comment!
      x

      Reply

Leave a Reply

COOKING ON A BOOTSTRAP

by Jack Monroe, bestselling author of 'A Girl Called Jack'

Patterns

Twenty something taking control of her mental health. Anxiety & depression sufferer. Learning as I go.

Reddskin

Sewing, making and creating...most of the time.

WB2QB

Worker Bee 2 Queen Bee

Tall. Black. One Sugar

Sometimes you have to hold your tongue, other times you have to say it as you see it.

afrow

Black Girl on the Front Row!

Crazy Green Thumbs

Chronicling a delusional gardening experience.

BIG MOUTHED WOMAN

what I had for tea last night (and other stories)

Hannah Crossley

Beauty, Lifestyle, Fashion

jazzre:freshed

forget what you think you know about jazz

Holly Coleman

artist and embroiderer

rellestyles

Fashion Stylist. Fashionista. Naturalista. London.

Telling stories whilst eating bon bons

Story telling, bad dancing, much eating.

My Bipolar

One Girl's Bipolar Journey

arhinarmah

'Cut from a different cloth'

