RSS Feed

Screen printing for Dummies.

Posted on

Anyone who knows me will be more than aware that I have a Very Important Birthday coming up. Next month I will reach the vibrant age of fifty! I can hardly believe it myself! Of course in my mind I’m barely past my 30’s…although my eyesight begs to differ. So  when I decided to have a party…and I wanted to make my own invitations I came across a slight dilemna? Erm…HOW?

Then in skipped Lovely Lucie resplendent in sequined cape and armed with a glittery truck load of screen printing knowledge.

‘Easy!’ she exclaimed.

‘Que?’

Lucie is a talented artist specializing in beautiful screenprints. Together with fellow artist, Mark, they run Studio Luma , a small screen printing studio in East London with a growing list of clientele.

And I’m the lucky woman she agreed to help!

So one not-so-sunny sunday, accompanied by my mother and my own A4 design, we ventured to deepest Hackney. We ate a hearty breakfast (it’s hard work, screen printing – all that arm action), checked that mum had her mobile in her bag and switched it on. We pointed  mum in the direction of Columbia Road flower market (she wanted to go, we weren’t trying to get rid of her!) and then set to work. Over the next couple of hours, fuelled by tea and cake, we produced a batch of beautiful party invites – even if I do say so myself!

Very important gooey green stuff!

Applying the photoemulsion to the screen. Oo-er!

This lovely lady doesn't know what she's let herself in for!

This tickled me for some reason

Tweaking my original design on the mahoosive screen.

Checking the exact fit over the lightbox

We had to leave the room for this UV baby to do its awesome work!

A simple water spray reveals my design. So clever!

Let loose on this crimson paint - mixing with a special ingredient. More gooey-ness!

Garibaldi the curious kitty spies mums Columbia Road goodies

Drawing down the paint. Yeah!

First print complete. Perfect!

Lucie teaches mum how to screen print the final invite. So patient! *melts*

Lots of lovely invites waiting to dry. *proud face*

In return Lucie and I have a few sewing lessons planned. Back in my comfort zone – I can’t wait!

We had a great day and I experienced such a wonderful feeling of accomplishment once we had finished. Looking back I can’t believe I even questioned myself!

Have you ever doubted your abilities and been pleasantly surprised?

About Reddskin

New name! New chapter! Follow me over at www.reddskin.co.uk My name is Ms A. I'm a mother, designer and educator.

3 responses »

  1. exciting love IT

    Reply
  2. I too am a young woman under the age of 54. Wow that age doesn’t go by my name….ugh. But to the point. I have a screen printer also, it is a 6 station one, and a flash dryer, that my husband found on Craigslist. So Sweet he is. Well after my friend saw on facebook, when I posted a picture, she game me a LOT of stuff, the exposure unit, a glass table, it looks like the one in your pictures, and the big lamp. And something she called, the one arm bandit, it is a big table with small holes in it and you hook up like a shop vacuum. She also gave me soooooo many newman roller frames and some of the left over screen material to go on the frames, and a rack for the frames, and a wash out station (not hooked up yet) Husband has been really busy. She Loves me, what can I say. No she is so sweet, she owns a business and they make plastic holders like stores use in displays. Well they used to screen print at her business but they quit, so she had lots of equipment. She said she wanted me to have it, I love her.
    But it looks so cool the setup your friend has, How fun, fun, fun. !!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

JACK MONROE

COOKING ON A BOOTSTRAP & MORE

Patterns

Twenty something taking control of her mental health. Anxiety & depression sufferer. Learning as I go.

Reddskin

Sewing, making and creating...most of the time.

WB2QB

Worker Bee 2 Queen Bee

Tall. Black. One Sugar

Sometimes you have to hold your tongue, other times you have to say it as you see it.

afrow

Black Girl on the Front Row!

Crazy Green Thumbs

Chronicling a delusional gardening experience.

BIG MOUTHED WOMAN

what I had for tea last night (and other stories)

Hannah Crossley

Beauty, Lifestyle, Fashion

jazzre:freshed

forget what you think you know about jazz

Holly Coleman

artist and embroiderer

rellestyles

Fashion Stylist. Fashionista. Naturalista. London.

Telling stories whilst eating bon bons

Story telling, bad dancing, much eating.

My Bipolar

One Girl's Bipolar Journey

arhinarmah

'Cut from a different cloth'

