RSS Feed

Reduce, Reuse, Re…what ARE you wearing?

Posted on

 

Over the past few months I have met some really interesting crafty (verb not adjective) people. This year I have made a concious decision to seek out new creative ventures whenever time allows. So when I stumbled across Penelope Else asking for local people with sewing skills for a new venture she was starting I emailed her straight away.

Frockcycle is an event that takes place at Canvas and Cream, a brand spanking new Art gallery slash workshop space slash restaurant in Forest Hill, Sarf East Londinium. The main premise is to up-cycle your old unwanted items of clothing in to fashion desirables with a fresh eye and a handy pair of scissors. All you need is enthusiasm – no previous sewing experience is necessary! Penny runs the show – the first part has involved trying clothes on upside down or backwards – mad fun!

Helpers are on hand to transform the clothes into new fashionable creations. If you need extra crafty items then Pascale from local ‘purveyors of craft haberdashery and history’ Stag and Bow, is there with her array of goodies. Oh and did I mention that you can buy cake and there’s a bar? Perfect.

During the last session Paulina Palian brought along a pair of bright orange trousers and an old orange vest then practically grabbed and pointed me in their direction.

Happy feet!

She knew full well that I wouldn’t be able to resist their vibrant colours (clever woman that). It was her suggestion that I play with the idea of combining them both to make a bolero jacket. In between helping clients I started the venture but ended up taking it home where it sat on my mannequin for a week whilst I pondered and got on with the business of ‘life’. Once I’d started again, after a lot of pinning and tacking it finally began to take shape.

See what I did there?

When 2 become 1.

I added some vibrant African batik cotton with a golden overlay to the edge.

That’s better!

I used the same fabric to create a semi-Cape effect to the back of the jacket.

Super cape in the making!

Next I cut the sleeves, added elastic and pushed them up my arms. Now I was on a roll! Finally I cut a length and sewed it just inside the pockets for a little definition – although sadly my photos haven’t picked this up *tiny sob*.

Avec orange necklace accessory

I was so pleased with my efforts I test drove the outfit the very next day!

Superwoman and her cape!

Tah-Daaaaah!

Your turn!

The next Frockcyle event is on Sunday 28th July. You can book here. Come along, bring your old fashion faux-pas, meet some new interesting people and most of all have some FUN!

Do YOU have any fashion regret-tables?

Or have you turned an unwanted item into an object of desire?

Oh go on, DO tell!

10 responses »

  1. Mrs Worthington

    You are inspiring! I love Orange too! Fave colour of moment. Its great to go some thing different, creative or otherwise, I’m with you.

    Reply
    • Thank you! I find it difficult to resist most things orange as it’s such an uplifting colour! Trouble is I keep eying up all my trousers and wondering what they’d look like as jackets! Must.Stop. 😉
      Thanks for your comment. x

      Reply
  2. How clever is that? I would never in a million years thought of turning a pair of trousers into a jacket!!! There’s nothing like Frockcycle round these parts. Maybe I need to practice a bit then set one up….

    Reply
    • Thanks lovely! Yes you must try some things on in different ways – they may look silly but it really does open up your creativity. As for setting something similar up yourself…nothing ventured etc. Why not?
      Thanks for commenting. x

      Reply
  3. I am loving orange at the moment so couldn’t resist the IO orange jumper!

    Reply
  4. Vintage Living Magazine

    A little creativity goes a long way. 🙂

    Reply
  5. You clever clogs! I wouldn’t have the first clue even how to start, though I did turn an old bridesmaid dress of mine into a Disney Princess dress up dress for my daughter… all very trial and error and a lot of unpicking but she loves it all the same.

    Plus, orange is bang on trend this summer. Nice work.

    Reply
    • Trial and error is as good a place to start as any! And as for the unpicking – I’ve done plenty of that in my time too….still do!
      Orange is my all time favourite colour – full of life and energy! On trend is a definite bonus!
      Thanks so much for taking the time to comment…means a great deal.
      K x

      Reply

Leave a Reply

JACK MONROE

COOKING ON A BOOTSTRAP & MORE

Patterns

Twenty something taking control of her mental health. Anxiety & depression sufferer. Learning as I go.

Reddskin

Sewing, making and creating...most of the time.

WB2QB

Worker Bee 2 Queen Bee

Tall. Black. One Sugar

Sometimes you have to hold your tongue, other times you have to say it as you see it.

afrow

Black Girl on the Front Row!

Crazy Green Thumbs

Chronicling a delusional gardening experience.

BIG MOUTHED WOMAN

what I had for tea last night (and other stories)

Hannah Crossley

Beauty, Lifestyle, Fashion

jazzre:freshed

forget what you think you know about jazz

Holly Coleman

artist and embroiderer

rellestyles

Fashion Stylist. Fashionista. Naturalista. London.

Telling stories whilst eating bon bons

Story telling, bad dancing, much eating.

My Bipolar

One Girl's Bipolar Journey

arhinarmah

'Cut from a different cloth'

